Is CBD Oil Halal

CBDISTILLERY

Buy CBD Oil Online

Is CBD halal? We have done the research so you can purchase CBD oils, capsules or e-liquids and be confident there are no haram ingredients. Get all of the latest Health news from The Scotsman. Providing fresh perspective online for news across the UK CBD can be a divisive issue within Islam. We explain what you can and cannot consume.

Is CBD Halal or Haram?

Halal is Arabic for permissible and haram means prohibited or sin. Halal foods are those that are allowed according to the traditional Islamic laws defined in the Qur’an. A practising Muslim must not consume anything that isn’t considered to be halal.

Since CBD has become such a popular food supplement, some people are unclear as to whether it’s halal or haram. According to the Qur’an, substances that “curtain the mind” are haram. This is understood to be substances that intoxicate and includes cannabis. Because CBD is extracted from hemp varieties of cannabis, is it forbidden too?

Is CBD Halal or Haram – Fast facts

  1. CBD is halal as it is a non-intoxicating substance.
  2. CBD products containing THC, alcohol, nicotine, and flavourings or gelatine from non-halal animal products are haram.
  3. Vaping CBD is considered halal as long as the e-liquid contains no nicotine, THC or other ingredients that are considered haram.
  4. Currently the only halal certified CBD products we have found in the UK are Cibdol CBD capsules.
  5. As a practicing Muslim, choose products that are THC free, certified vegan and are not labelled as “tinctures”.

Is CBD halal?

CBD oils and vape liquids are halal if it they are non-intoxicating and free from THC. However, this can depend on the type of CBD product you use and if it contains any additional ingredients that may be haram. Common ingredients such as gelatine, food colouring and flavourings are sometimes haram.

Some CBD products contain haram ingredients

Gelatine – Some CBD capsules use gelatine and are haram. However, if it is bovine gelatine and the cow was slaughtered to halal standards, it would be permissible.

Flavourings – Flavourings and colouring can also be haram if they don’t come from a halal source. For example, some can contain alcohol by-products or non-halal animal products.

Vape Juices – On the face of it, CBD e-liquids meet the standards of halal, but there is fierce debate around whether the act of vaping should be forbidden. In 2015 the Malaysian National Fatwa Council declared vaping of electronic cigarettes as haram, but this may not apply to vaping CBD.

Some argue that if in the future science can prove that it is entirely safe and vape juices contain all-natural ingredients, then it should be permissible. But others see vaping, even if safe, as an imitation of a sinful act and as such, haram.

Alcohol – Anything advertised as a “tincture” should be avoided; they are made by dissolving hemp extract in alcohol. While the amount of alcohol is negligible, tinctures are easily avoided as most CBD oils use an extraction method that uses supercritical CO2 which contains no alcohol or its derivatives.

Alcohol in small amounts can be ok if the purpose of the product is to heal, but only if there are no other options.

Why is CBD halal if cannabis is haram?

According to Islam Q&A, the intoxicating cannabinoid THC is considered as haram, but this doesn’t apply to the whole cannabis plant. Other substances found in cannabis such as CBD are unlikely to be haram as they’re considered safe to consume and don’t cause intoxication. However, it is forbidden to consume them alongside THC in an intoxicating cannabis product.

Even CBD products that still contain tiny traces of THC are ok if it is absorbed by your body and can’t be detected. The UK legal limit for THC in CBD products is 1mg per container so, if an item meets this standard its likely to be halal.

Guide to finding halal CBD

To ensure that any CBD you consume is halal, there are some simple steps that you can take:

1. Find a trustworthy retailer

The UK CBD industry is still largely unregulated, so, there are some unscrupulous retailers selling poor quality products. Look for a retailer that is transparent about their processes and what is in the bottle.

Find a company you can trust by looking at customer reviews and by reading the information provided on their websites.

2. Check third-party lab tests

The best retailers and CBD brands will display third-party lab results on their product pages. These are conducted by independent laboratories and verify the content of a sample from each batch of product.

Look for products with certificates that show that THC was not detected or that it is present in trace amounts. Even if a brand claims “zero THC” or “THC free” it’s still important to check that the certificates back up their claims. We have seen many sites that say zero THC but also contradictorily describe their product as full-spectrum (to be full-spectrum it must contain THC).

3. Look for certified vegan products

Products that have a vegan certification will contain no animal products which will prevent you from consuming items from animals that weren’t properly slaughtered. They will also be free from insect products such as cochineal red food colouring which is also haram.

Look for an official halal certification – Currently, halal-certified CBD is difficult to find, so you will need to rely on carrying out your own due diligence. However, as more people ask questions about whether it’s halal, the more likely that brands will include it in their processes and labelling. Most certification conducted in the UK is coordinated by the Halal Food Authority.

4. Check the ingredients

Once you’ve found a THC free, vegan product from a trustworthy retailer, it’s important to take a detailed look at the ingredients. Most CBD oils contain very few ingredients, but others may have unnecessary extras. Look out for additives, fillers and flavours that may not be halal.

If you would like assistance with selecting a halal CBD product feel free to give us a call on 020 8191 8621 or drop us an email here: [email protected]

Alternatively, we are happy to recommend a couple of products. As many are full-spectrum, these would not be suitable for a practising Muslim. We do stock a selection that are THC free and we have checked the ingredients closely to ensure there are no other haram components. Check out Love Hemp CBD oils, Love Hemp CBD capsules, the previously mentioned Cibdol capsules and Love CBD’s isolate e-liquid.

See also  CBD Oil Wine

Conclusion

Whether you choose to consume CBD is entirely up to you but the growing consensus is that it’s likely to be halal. To be entirely sure, avoid tinctures, vape oils and products with colouring and flavouring.

It’s also important to use the third-party lab certificates to verify that it’s free from, or low in THC. If you have any doubts talk directly to the retailer before making your purchase.

Join us to get updates and special deals monthly:
Tom Russell

Tom Russell writes extensively about CBD oil and other groundbreaking food supplements. He and his wife share their home with two daughters and a lifetime’s collection of books.

2 Responses

Hi Delwar,
Many thanks for your question, Love CBD’s e-liquids (both Sativa and Indica strains) are THC free.
Best regards,
Tom

Delwar Hussain

Hi Tom, sincere gratitude for the information.

Regarding on contacting you for more information, I was wondering is there a CBD vape juice you can recommend to me that is THC free and other haram ingredient free.

I do not know where to look as there is so many.

If you can give me a specific brand and how I can order them then I would be very grateful.

Is CBD Halal or Haram? A guide for 2022

While dietary preferences based on allergies or ethics can make choosing a particular food supplement difficult, it is religious dietary lifestyles that often prove the most complicated.

Not only do followers of faiths not always agree, on which foods and beverages are acceptable to consume, but there’s also a wide range of practices and restrictions across different religious groups and sects.

For example, while alcohol is banned in Islam and off-limits for Buddhist adherents, it’s freely consumed by the roughly one billion people of the Hindu faith, writes Halal CBD.

Here it asks whether CBD is Halal or Haram

The intersection between religious dietary laws and the exploding market for cannabidiol (CBD) is no exception, with some Muslims voicing concerns that CBD may not be halal or permissible to consume under their faiths’ guidelines.

What is Halal?

Halal is a term that means “permissible” in Arabic, and it’s the term used to indicate if something is religiously permissible. The opposite of halal would be haram, or “forbidden”.

For adherents of Islam (the world’s second-largest religion after Christianity), halal dietary guidelines are intended to make sure all food and beverages consumed are in accordance with the Qur’an and Islamic law.

The Qur’an is the holy book of Islam, and it includes passages about halal foods that God (Allah) has made lawful for believers to consume. These guidelines dictate that animals must be slaughtered via a specific cut made to jugular veins, which drains all their blood while leaving the spinal cord intact.

But halal isn’t just about how the meat is slaughtered. Muslims also need to ensure the food they consume won’t cause them any physical harm – such as cancer or if their bodies can’t properly digest them.

As for beverages, many scholars believe that passages within Islam’s holy book clearly prohibit alcohol consumption, citing that it causes haram behaviours that would shame a believer’s faith.

CBD and Halal: Is CBD Oil Halal?

Considering that CBD is derived from hemp or cannabis plants, both of which contain varying quantities of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), there are concerns about its status as halal. While it’s important to note that the psychoactive compound in cannabis is not present in CBD products, some Muslims still perceive CBD as a haram product in Islamic faith due to its association with THC’s psychoactive properties.

So the argument becomes: If CBD products contain no THC, as is the case with CBD isolate and broad-spectrum CBD formulas, is it halal?

Some Muslim scholars believe that if a CBD product is derived from hemp and contains no THC or other psychoactive agents, it should be considered halal so that it can be used for its health benefits. But others aren’t so sure, believing CBD’s status as haram depends on the plant it came from (hemp vs cannabis) and how it was sourced.

Furthermore, since non-halal items such as food additives like gelatine or alcohol are often used in CBD processing, some Muslims claim they cannot consider it halal because certain ingredients might render it haram.

And with the advancements in the health food industry, much of the food and drink we consume can now be made with halal-friendly products like vegetable-based capsules, GMO-free rice paper and water-based glaze for CBD sweets.

Recommended Halal CBD Oils to Buy

If you are Muslim or follow a halal diet, finding CBD products can be tricky. Fortunately, we’ve done the research to uncover two of the best CBD brands in the UK that offer CBD products that can be considered halal by Muslims who are okay with using non-psychoactive CBD hemp plant extracts.

Using an advanced supercritical CO2 distillation process that produces a potent CBD hemp extract, Blessed CBD products are free from THC, heavy metals, pesticides and herbicides.

Furthermore, Blessed CBD uses vegan hemp seed oil for maximum bioactivity and offers lab reports on every batch produced by 3rd party testing laboratories.

Offering broad-spectrum CBD oil tinctures in concentrations of 500mg, 1000mg, and 1800mg per 10ml bottle, Blessed CBD oil is the perfect way to adhere to the tenets of Islam without fear of accidentally using a product that may contain ingredients that are halal-restricted.

Additionally, their CBD capsules and gummies are isolate-based, which means there is no THC and is considered halal. The CBD balm is not only the perfect way to soothe sore muscles and chronic pain, but it is also vegan, cruelty-free and made with organic hemp seed oil and shea butter.

Vibes CBD is well known throughout the UK for its premium quality CBD products, specialising exclusively in broad-spectrum and CBD isolate formulas.

Made with pure CBD isolate and blended with other terpenes and phytocannabinoids (non-psychoactive), Vibes CBD also uses CO2 supercritical extraction methods to ensure that all of their hemp-derived ingredients are free from THC and other impurities.

Their oils, tinctures, capsules, topicals, and gummies are all vegan-friendly and cruelty-free.

Vibes CBD’s customer service department is always available to answer questions about their products. In addition, you can find batch numbers referenced on all product labels to ensure the ingredients and formulas meet halal standards.

See also  CBD Oil Sweden

If you’re looking to experience the benefits of CBD with THC-free products, try Vibes CBD.

What CBD Products Are Not Halal?

While there may be controversy surrounding whether or not all CBD products are halal, there is a clear consensus regarding specific CBD products that are not considered halal under Islamic guidelines.

One example is any CBD product that is considered to be a full-spectrum CBD oil. Full-spectrum CBD products contain full-plant parts and an unfiltered amount of cannabinoids, including THC, in their formula.

Even though UK law mandates that the amount of THC be less than 1mg per CBD product container, an amount that will not likely cause any sort of psychoactive reaction, it’s still not halal because THC is present.

Additionally, any CBD capsules made using bovine gelatine or other non-halal food-grade capsules will not be considered halal as well. While the gelatine in these capsules may not contain any alcohol, it is still non-halal because it comes from a haram animal source.

Some CBD edibles, such as gummies, may also be considered haram if they are made with food dyes sourced from animal by-products or contain traces of alcohol from the manufacturing process.

Basically, if a CBD product contains any trace of THC, animal by-product, or involves a manufacturing process using alcohol, it can be considered haram and not halal.

How Can I Know if a CBD Product is Halal?

If you subscribe to the notion that CBD products that don’t contain any trace of THC, are sourced from hemp plants, and don’t use any alcohol in their extraction or refinement processes are halal, that opens up many options.

When shopping around for CBD products that could be considered halal, look for ones that meet the following criteria.

*Broad-Spectrum CBD

Broad-spectrum CBD formulas such as tinctures, creams, capsules, and edibles contain all beneficial cannabinoids and terpenes found in the plant. However, what classifies them as a halal product is the fact that broad-spectrum formulas undergo additional refinement to remove any trace of THC and other psychoactive cannabinoids such as CBN and Delta-8/9 THC. These cannabinoids are known for their psychoactive properties, which, in addition to being a controlled substance in the UK, is why they are filtered out of the hemp extract.

Broad-spectrum CBD oils typically use an MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oil to enhance bioavailability and offer a full-plant CBD experience without any psychoactive effects. These oils are generally considered halal.

*CBD Isolate Oil

Not everyone that takes CBD products is looking for a host of cannabinoids or other added ingredients. Instead, many CBD consumers in the UK simply want a product that contains nothing but pure CBD and MCT oil for maximum absorption.

Free from THC, psychoactive cannabinoids, terpenes, and other plant materials, CBD isolates are considered the purest, and if made using a halal carrier oil such as hemp seed oil or fractionated coconut oil, they can be 100% halal.

CBD isolates are often the base for a variety of CBD products, including topical skincare creams, CBD capsules, and CBD gummies. Therefore, finding lab reports that verify the purity of a CBD isolate formula is extremely important.

Pro Tip: Some manufacturers will sell a CBD isolate product that contains no THC but may still be formulated with non-halal ingredients such as gelatine, dye, and alcohol. Make sure to always check the ingredients and avoid purchases without detailed lab reports verifying the purity of the CBD isolate and the presence of halal-friendly ingredients.

*Vegan & Cruelty-Free

Looking for certified vegan and cruelty-free CBD products will help ensure that the products are not sourced from any animal by-product that wasn’t killed and prepared under halal guidelines described in the Qur’an.

Vegan and cruelty-free products will also have a much better safety profile as they avoid using some of the chemicals found in non-vegan or animal-tested products, such as artificial dyes, parabens, and alcohol.

Pro Tip: If you combine your online search for a quality CBD product by using the keywords “vegan” and “cruelty-free”, you’ll limit your search to products that are safe for vegans, people with halal dietary standards, and Muslims looking for cruelty-free CBD options.

Remember that before purchasing any CBD product, it is highly recommended to do your own research. That means contacting the CBD company you want to purchase from to verify the information on their website fall in line with the tenets of Islam.

Halal-Friendly CBD Products in the UK

Whether or not you think CBD is halal, it is essential to know which CBD brands can be safely consumed by Muslims and those following a halal diet. Many great companies are offering high-quality CBD products that fall in line with the tenets of Islam.

Remember that not all CBD products are made the same, and your own research will be required to ensure your health and wellness needs are met with a high-quality, halal-friendly CBD oil product.

CBD and Islam: Halal or Haram?

CBD is a product that we hear more and more about. It is a product of the hemp plant, also known as cannabis sativa. There are many varieties of this plant and each one has an impressive number of natural components, including cannabidiol (short for CBD).

CBD is becoming popular because this molecule represents an important discovery in the world of medicine. Indeed, the therapeutic effects it can provide have been studied by scientists since the 1980s and are of interest to doctors as well as to people suffering from chronic and inflammatory diseases such as multiple sclerosis, endometriosis, fibromyalgia, osteoarthritis and epilepsy.

Today, people of the Muslim faith are wondering about the halal or haram position of this substance which, on the face of it, could be good for their health, but which suffers from the illicit reputation that cannabis holds in society as well as in religion.

If this is the case for you, in this article, let’s unpack the effects of CBD to determine whether CBD is considered halal or haram in Islam and which CBD-derived products are allowed for consumption.

Illegal substances in Islam

Intoxication is forbidden in Islam, even in small doses. Any product that contains intoxicants, i.e. substances that can alter a person’s mental faculties, consciousness, behaviour, actions, lucidity and common sense, is prohibited and Islam advises to stay away from them.

See also  Holistapet CBD Oil Reviews

Among the intoxicants are first of all alcohol, then psychoactive drugs as well as chemicals such as solvents whose vapors alter consciousness if inhaled.

Does CBD fall into this category of intoxicants forbidden by Islam? To answer this question, it is good to understand what exactly CBD is.

What is cannabidiol (CBD)?

CBD is a component found in the cannabis plant. It is one of more than 100 other active components that each have different effects and properties on the body

Cannabis has always been well known for its euphoric properties that alter the consciousness of its users. These euphoric effects are produced by another component, THC, which is the cause of this state. Other components present in the plant have different effects, but most of them are non-psychoactive like CBD. Only THC, a substance that is illegal and forbidden for consumption by law in France, is the cause of cannabis’ reputation.

CBD has been studied extensively in laboratories since its therapeutic properties were discovered. Indeed, many tests have been carried out on animals, and then on humans, to determine how CBD acts on the human body and what are its effects, both negative and positive.

The scientific consensus is that CBD is a non-psychoactive product that cures many symptoms in people suffering from chronic pain, difficulty sleeping, inflammation and depression

Moreover, it is also clearly attested that the CBD molecule has no proven side effects, apart from a drying of the mouth. Moreover, the limit of consumption of the product for it to become toxic is very high and impossible to reach for a lambda consumer.

When isolated from THC, CBD has no possibility of being assimilated to a euphoric drug and can be considered as a remedy coming from a plant, as could be a thyme tea for a sore throat.

Plants have always been the best allies of humans to cure mild ailments naturally, so CBD can be added to that list.

Does CBD make you “high”?

As explained above, CBD does not make you “high”. No euphoric effects can be attributed to the CBD molecule itself. It acts like a painkiller, an analgesic or a chemical antidepressant that you could buy in a pharmacy, except that it is derived from natural products

Note that it is important to consume quality products, approved by the state and whose composition is clearly indicated (as it should also be for products such as gelatin in candy for example). Reputable CBD products will always be accompanied by a CA or CoA (Certificate of Analysis) which determines the quality and purity of the product and lists the components present.

Is CBD authorized by French law?

Today, France allows the consumption and marketing of CBD products with less than 0.2% THC in their composition. The World Health Organization (WHO) considers that CBD is not harmful for health and therefore is not included in the list of substances to be controlled.

Is CBD addictive?

No, CBD is not addictive. Drugs, including THC in cannabis, are generally addictive and this is one of the reasons why governments prohibit their use. Many scientific studies have confirmed that CBD has no additive effects. Let’s try to understand biologically why.

When you use a drug, you trigger the production of a hormone called dopamine or the pleasure hormone. There are many studies that show that drugs like cocaine act on the nervous system to promote the production of dopamine and thus send pleasure signals to your body. Because the feeling of pleasure is so pleasurable, the body wants to reproduce it and therefore sends signals to the body to repeat the action so that the feeling is repeated. It is the same system with food addiction for example

CBD does not act on the production of dopamine. It has no significant “pleasure sensation” effect that can produce an addictive effect in the long term and the WHO confirms this.

Some other studies ( here on cigarettes ) are positive on the fact that CBD would help to reduce dependence on certain substances by stabilizing the effect that an additive product would have on the limbic system producing dopamine.

What CBD products should I choose as a Muslim?

According to the scientific information described in this article, we are definite about the halal position of the CBD molecule. It is a natural product that does not make you “stoned”.

Regarding its consumption, the choice of products will be decisive. It depends on your sensitivity on the subject to determine if the presence of less than 0.2% THC, in some CBD oils , for example, is low enough (and therefore non-psychoactive) that you can consume it and be at peace with your beliefs

Full spectrum CBD oil or full spectrum for example, may contain tiny traces of THC, but even these are considered halal due to the “negligible amounts” that do not impair mental faculties. If this level bothers you, there is another solution. Do you know CBD isolate?

CBD Is olate isolate is the purest CBD product you can find on the market. It contains ONLY CBD, and no other molecules. It is just as effective although it is slightly different in its consumption. Learn more about the difference between full spectrum CBD and CBD isolate .

CBD candy candies are definitely not recommended for Muslims as they are made from gelatin which usually contains animal fat and often pork.

CBD flowers flowers are also to be taken with caution. Ask about the composition of the flowers. Those sold in France, in e-shops like 321 CBD, do not contain more than 0.2% THC.

The CBD in vaporization will be halal or haram depending on your consideration too. It can be held at the same level as smoking because it is to inhale the product. So it is a matter of technique and not the product.

Whatever happens, make sure you know what the products you buy are made of, just as you would with food or medicine.

If you are interested in quality CBD products, do not hesitate to visit the 321 CBD e-shop e-shop to see the range of 100% Premium products.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.